Jun 7 – 8, 2022
Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Europe/Budapest timezone

XII Einstein Telescope Symposium

(The birth of the ET Collaboration)


The XII symposium of the Einstein Telescope (ET) took place in Budapest, at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, on the 7th - 8th of June. The ET scientific community met in Budapest for a crucial step in the long Einstein Telescope journey: the formal establishment of the ET Collaboration.

More than 400 scientists, out of more than 1200 members of the Collaboration, participated in the meeting in person or remotely. The ET members discussed the status of the experiment, the technical challenges, the scientific case, and the scientific and technical progresses made by each of the ET boards. The ET Project Directorate presented the perspective of the funding agencies. Finally, the approved INFRA-DEV Horizon EU project, for supporting the preparation phase of the experiment, and the INFRA-TECH Horizon EU proposal, recently submitted to Brussels for supporting technological R&D activities, were introduced to the whole Collaboration.

The 12th ET symposium is a milestone of the Einstein Telescope project. The ET project is on the ESFRI roadmap since July 2021.  A collection of European research institutions, universities and research teams is on the way to establishing the Einstein Telescope Collaboration. That is the primary goal of the conference.

The details of the ET organisation will be discussed with the participants and the scientific and technological challenges for the realisation of the Einstein Telescope will be presented.

Please, read the ET Collaboration Announcement!

Because of the COVID-19 constraints, the ET symposium will be hybrid.  The conference site is the building of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest. Zoom connection coordinates have been distributed to the registered participants. Both personal and online participation is open and free. 

Registration is open.

Deadline for registration: Saturday 4th June,  9 pm CET 

The zoom links of the symposium will be posted to the registered participants after the registration is closed.

Scientific organising committee: Stefano Bagnasco, Marica Branchesi, Domenico D'Urso, Andreas Freise, Gianluca Gemme, Frank Linde, Peter Lévai, Harald Lueck, Michele Maggiore, Ed Porter, Michele Punturo, Achim Stahl, Patrice Verdier 

Local organising committee: László Árpád Gergely, Balázs Kacskovics, László L. Kiss, Robert Kovács, István Lemperger, János Majár, József Molnár, István I. Rácz, Mátyás Vasúth, Peter Ván (chair).


"This initiative is supported by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Programme under the AHEAD2020 project (GA n. 871158).”

Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Ceremonial hall
Hungary, 1051 Budapest, Széchenyi István tér 9.
Go to map