May 6 – 10, 2024
Europe/Rome timezone

Cryogenic interferometric inertial sensors for penultimate mirror residual vibration monitoring

May 7, 2024, 5:30 PM
1h 30m


Poster Instrument Science Board (ISB) Posters


The poster aims to present highly sensitive inertial sensors developed for future gravitational-wave detectors. E-TEST (Einstein Telescope Euregio Meuse-Rhine Site & Technology)[1,2] is an international collaboration that consists of a prototype suspension combining passive and active isolation techniques for a 100 kg silicon mirror cooled down radiatively to 25 K in a suspended cryostat. It is aimed at validating R&D to meet Einstein Telescope’s requirements in the relevant environment [3]. This unprecedented seismic isolation calls for highly sensitive inertial sensors at each stage of the isolation chain to monitor its efficiency, as well as the performance of the low-vibration cooling strategy by characterizing the residual motion at the mirror level. Several sensors have been developed either as part of the isolation stage of the suspension or as witness sensors in the harsh cryogenic environment close to the mirror. Cryogenic and vacuum compatible horizontal and vertical cryogenic inertial sensors were developed to monitor the cryogenic penultimate stage down to 1 fm/√Hz from 1 Hz onwards.
[1] A. Sider, C. D. Fronzo, L. Amez-Droz, A. Amorosi, F. Badaracco, P. Baer, A. Bertolini, G. Bruno, P. Cebeci, C. Collette, et al., Classical and Quantum Gravity 40, 165002 (2023), URL
[2] A. Sider, L. Amez-Droz, A. Amorosi, F. Badaracco, P. Baer, G. Bruno, A. Bertolini, C. Collette, P. Cebeci, C. D. Fronzo, et al., E-test prototype design report (2022), 2212.10083.
[3] S. Di Pace, V. Mangano, L. Pierini, A. Rezaei, J.-S. Hennig, M. Hennig, D. Pascucci, A. Allocca, I. Tosta e Melo, V. G. Nair, et al., Galaxies 10 (2022), ISSN 2075-4434, URL

Primary authors

Anthony Amorosi (Université de Liège) Christophe Collette Morgane Zeoli (Université Catholique de Louvain-la-Neuve)


Ameer Sider (PML - Precision Mechatronics Laboratory, Université de Liège, B-4000 Liège, Belgium) Brieux Thibaut (Université de Liège) Chiara Di Fronzo (Université de Liège) Haidar Lakkis (Université de Liège) Loïc Amez-Droz (Université Libre de Bruxelles) Mayana Teloi (Université Libre de Bruxelles) Rasa Jamshidi (Lab Motion Stystems)

Presentation materials